Michigan High School Athlete of the Year


Welcome to the website for the Michigan High School Athlete of the Year. The DAC Foundation’s winning tradition continues with its support of the National Athletic Awards and the creation of the Michigan High School Athlete of the Year award. This annual award started in 1996 and honors both, athletic and academic achievement.

The 2021 registration extended deadline is February 15, 2021. Nominees will be announced at an event TBD. The DAC Foundation Male and Female Michigan Athlete of the Year Awards will take place in downtown Detroit at the Detroit Athletic Club in the Spring. The event will be livestreamed here. 

2021 Application




2020 Award Nominees

avery web

Avery Fenchel

Soccer | Novi

CA web

Kathryn Ackerman

Swimming | Grand Haven

carter web

Carter Solomon

Cross Country | Plymouth

hunter web

Hunter Hollenbeck

Swimming | Okemos

dylan web

Dylan Targgart

Track and Field | Coldwater

jason web

Jason Kemp

Soccer | Troy Athens

luke web

Luke Baylis

Tennis | Clarkston

cameron web

Cameron Martinez

Football | Muskegon

gabi e web

Gabrielle Elliott

Basketball | Detroit Edison

gabi web

Gabrianna Salo

Softball | Escanaba

jess web

Jess Mruzik

Volleyball | Mercy

sophie web

Sophie Housey

Swimming | University Liggett


2019 Award Recipients

Rickea Awards

Rickea Jackson

Basketball | Detroit Edison

Kendal Awards

Kendel Taylor

Football, Wrestling, Lacrosse and Track and Field | Madison Heights Bishop Foley

2020 DAC Foundation Athlete of the Year Award Show | 6/15 at 6:00PM